“Making of…” – Spirited

Lotti Leibnitz Art Creation Spirited Oilpainting Art Traditional Art Visual Art Animals Wildlife Semi-abstract Zurich

Dear folks,

A few weeks ago I have launched this new blog post series called LOTTI’S ART JOURNAL – “MAKING OF…”, where I first introduced to you the creation of Defined Surreality. I will for now continue with this Art Journal, because it is, firstly, a great way for you to see how I create and, secondly, a great way for me to remember how I created things. Simple, right? 😉 Every entry will include step-by-step images of artworks I made along with the description of the painting process. So now, here is my second “Making of…”: Spirited
———————————
Vor einigen Wochen startete ich mit dieser neuen Blog Post Serie LOTTI’S ART JOURNAL – “MAKING OF…”, in welcher ich euch mit einer Art Tagebucheintrag die Entstehung von Defined Surreality näher brachte. Ich werde diese Serie weiterführen, weil ich damit einerseits euch einen Zugang hinsichtlich meiner Arbeitsweise verschaffe und andererseits mir eine kleine Erinnerung schaffe über die ‘Malzeit’ eines jeden Werkes. Jeder Eintrag enthält Schritt-für-Schritt Fotos der Bilder mit einer kurzen Beschreibung des Malprozesses. Hier also nun mein zweites “Making of…”: Spirited

1.) First, I stained the canvas with various shades of brown (Raw Umber, Burnt Umber, Raw Sienna, Burnt Sienna and Yellow Ochre) and let it dry. This time I used oil colours from the beginning. Second, I used white chalk to loosely draw in the outlines of the horse after the under layer was thoroughly dry.
———————————-
1.) Als erstes benutzte ich verschiedene Brauntöne (Raw Umber, Burnt Umber, Raw Sienna, Burnt Sienna und Yellow Ochre) für die Grundierung und liess dies einige Tage stehen, damit es trocknen konnte. Bei diesem Bild malte ich gleich zu Beginn mit Ölfarben. Nach Trocknung der ersten Schicht benutzte ich weisse Kreide, um das Pferd lose zu skizzieren.

 

2.) With the intention of painting a horse without too many details, keeping it rather free-flowing, I then started off by casually blocking in all my lights and darks for the underpainting.
———————————–
2.) Von Anfang an hatte ich die Absicht, dieses Mal weniger realistisch zu malen, also das ganze Bild eher lose und flüssig zu halten und dabei den Spirit (Lebenshauch, Temperament, Seele) in den Vordergrund zu stellen; also weniger Details und mehr Schwung. Nach der einfachen Skizze fing ich an, die hellsten und die dunkelsten Stellen für die Untermalung zu definieren (Zinc White, Vandyke Brown und Indigo Blue).

 

3-4.) I have used various layers to block in my lights and darks by adding more and more colour (shades of brown, red, yellow) with each layer on top of the very first one which was done by using only Zinc White, Vandyke Brown and Indigo Blue. While painting the various layers on the horse, I was also concerned with getting the background done. Initially, I wanted to create just a sense of forest at the far back with flowers in the background closer to the horse (by slightly outlining them with various colours). However, the more I worked on the background, the more detailed it got and the less satisfied I was, as my initial idea was less details and more spirit (I mostly work in detail and that is why I wanted to loosen up in this painting).
————————————
3-4.) Nach dem Trocknen der ersten Schicht, folgten weitere Aufträge, um die dunklen und hellen Stellen weiter zu definieren und auszubauen. Dafür benutzte ich verschiedene Braun-, Rot- und Gelbtöne. Diesen Prozess fand ich sehr angenehm, denn er ermöglichte mir, weniger Präzision und mehr freies Auftragen von Farbe zu geniessen. Währenddem ich auf Trocknung der jeweiligen Schichten wartete, arbeitete ich an meinem Hintergrund. Anfänglich war die Idee, nur leicht einen Wald im Hintergrund anzudeuten (durch die Benutzung von diversen Grün-, Braun- und Blautönen) genauso wie eine kleine Blumenwiese, ebenfalls nur angedeutet. Je mehr ich jedoch am Hintergrund arbeitete, desto detaillierter wurde dieser und desto weiter entfernte ich mich von der ursprünglichen Idee, ein fliessendes Ganzes zu malen, ohne gross auf Details zu achten.

 

Lotti Leibnitz Art Creation Making of Spirited WIP work in progress Traditional Art Visual Art Oilpainting Creation Horse Wildlife

5.) Loosening up was definitely one goal of this piece, however, at this point I might have taken it a little too seriously judging by the blue horse. 😀 Well, after some consideration, it turned out to be too blue for me (I am still working on my bravery and experimental skills – so keep watching me!). 😀 While repainting parts of the blue in the horse, I was thinking about my chosen title for this painting and realized that the old background was just too smooth, too lovely to do the title justice. So I repainted the background, as well, trying to feel that spirited soul which I wanted to capture myself.
———————————–
5.) Also trat ich einen Schritt zurück und dachte an das Grosszügige, Unkonventionelle, Befreiende – und übermalte den Hintergrund mit genau diesen Empfindungen (was eine komplette Änderung des Hintergrundes mit sich brachte). Und in dieser, ein wenig ‘ver-rückten’ Stimmung 😉 malte ich dann auch gleich das Pferd blau. Jawohl. Was eigentlich anfangs ganz gut aussah, erschien mir jedoch zunehmends sehr blau (ich arbeite immer noch daran, mutiger und experimentierfreudiger zu sein) 😀 Also fing ich damit an, das Blau wieder vermehrt in den Hintergrund zu rücken.

 

Lotti Leibnitz Art Creation Making of Spirited WIP work in progress Traditional Art Visual Art Oilpainting Creation Horse Wildlife

6.) Using the same colours I took for the background’s final version, I continued working on the horse itself, leaving parts of the blue the way they initially were and leaving other parts of the blue slightly shine through the upper layer. I simply LOVE the colour Chinacridone Rose, and mixing it with blue and white turned out to become irresistible shades of magenta. I needed to get that colour across the whole painting and therefore, balancing it out. The reds in the horse mean heat; a hot-blooded, wild breed, a free spirit that turns his surroundings into fire and passion whilst glowing with happiness from the inside.
———————————-
6.) Dieselben Farben, welche ich für den Hintergrund wählte, mischte ich nun auch in das Pferd, wobei ich einige der vorherigen blauen Stellen stehen liess und wiederum andere blaue Stellen mit dünnen Schichten übermalte, um das Blau leicht in den Hintergrund zu rücken, dabei aber bewusst sanft durchschimmern zu lassen. Meine liebste Ölfarbe ist das Chinacridonrosa, und gemischt mit Blau und Weiss führte sie zu wunderschönen Magenta Farbtönen, welche ich dann unbedingt über das ganze Bild verteilen musste (um so auch eine Balance im Bild als Ganzes zu schaffen). Die Rottöne im Pferd sind für mich der Inbegriff von Wärme und Passion; ein heissblütiges, wildes Geschöpf, ein Freigeist, das sogar seine Umgebung in Leidenschaft und Feuer verwandelt, während es selbst von innen heraus glüht mit Spannung und Freude.

 

Lotti Leibnitz Art Creation Spirited Oilpainting Art Traditional Art Visual Art Animals Wildlife Semi-abstract Zurich

Spirited
oil on canvas
120x4x100 cm

Colours I used (Van Gogh & Rembrandt oil paints):
Background: vandyke brown, indigo, raw sienna, burnt sienna, yellow ochre, raw umber, burnt umber, indian red, phthalo green, sap green, azo yellow light, madder lake deep (krapplack dunkel), zinc white, titanium white, ultramarine blue, phthalo blue, quinacridone rose
Horse: all used in the background (except the greens)

Brushes I used: various (in shape, size and length)
Hours it took to finish the painting: impossible to count! 😀

 

  • Click here for some very short real time clips on various painting processes.
  • Please Like & Share this blog post by using the fancy icons below!
  • Please comment on whether this ART JOURNAL entry was helpful and inspiring to you!

Thank you & Happy Creations!
Yours always,
Lotti ❤

One thought on ““Making of…” – Spirited

  1. Pingback: Art by Lotti – Grozda | Lotti Leibnitz Art Creation

Think and leave a comment here!

