“Making of…” – Defined Surreality

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dear folks,

As I have mentioned before, I am now about to start this new blog post series, where I will be posting step-by-step images of artworks I have made along with the description of the painting process. So here is my first “Making of…”: Defined Surreality
————————————
Wie schon vorerwähnt, starte ich nun mit meiner neuen Blog Post Serie, wobei ich für jedes neue Kunstwerk eine Art Tagebucheintrag führen werde über die Entstehung des Bildes. Dabei werde ich vor allem Schritt-für-Schritt Fotos der Bilder posten mit einer kurzen Beschreibung über den Malprozess. Hier also nun mein erstes “Making of…”: Defined Surreality

1.) As I always do at first, I stained the canvas in order for it to have a colour instead of being solely white (it will help you with blocking in the lights and darks if you have stained the canvas in a medium tone). Sometimes I use Burnt Sienna as a first layer, sometimes Raw Umber. You can stain your canvas either with gouache, acrylic or oil colours (when you are making an oil painting). Here I used gouache (for quicker drying time).
————————————
1.) Wie bei allen meinen Bildern (egal ob ich mit Öl oder Acryl male) verwende ich einen Mittelton (meist Burnt Sienna oder Raw Umber), um nicht auf ganz weissem Grund zu arbeiten. Ausserdem hilft der Mittelton dabei, die Kontraste (dunkel-hell) besser darzustellen. Bei einem Ölbild wie diesem male ich die erste Schicht meist mit Gouache, weil man dann gleich nach 10 min weiterfahren kann (man kann natürlich auch Öl oder Acryl verwenden – solange man die Regel Öl auf Wasser basierende Farben und nicht umgekehrt einhält).

 

2.) Next step was drawing the outlines (here with a light aquarelle pencil) and blocking in the darkest darks (in oil) to outline the face and help me see it better. Next step was putting on the first layer with oil paint for the background, all in a darker brownish tone (because this will help with the lighter shades on top; the darker you go in the first place, the easier it will be for you to get the contrast between light and dark right in the end – nothing is more annoying as when the painting is overall too light and held in mid-tones rather then having that contrast right..). At this stage I didn’t quite know what I was going for. Using the tape allowed for a fine division of colour sections.
————————————
2.) Als nächstes fing ich an, den Umriss des Jaguars zu zeichnen (mit einem hellen Aquarellstift) und die dunkelsten Töne (in Öl) am Jaguar zu erarbeiten zur besseren Orientierung. Den Rest malte ich in einer ersten Ölschicht in meist dunkelbraunen Tönen (je dunkler man den Anfang macht, desto leichter wird es sein, die hellen Töne hervorzuheben und den Kontrast zwischen Hell und Dunkel aufrecht zu halten – es gibt nichts tragischeres, als wenn das fertige Bild generell zu hell wirkt und die Töne alles eher Mitteltöne sind, also keinen grossartigen Kontrast ergeben..). An diesem Punkt wusste ich noch nicht genau, was ich nebst dem Jaguar noch machen wollte; mit Hilfe des Klebebands konnte ich schon mal genaue Linien ziehen und farbliche Abtrennungen gestalten.

 

3.) Then I started to put on layers on top of layers on top of layers to get the effect of various mid-tones (being careful though not to paint over my darkest darks) in order to have the fur look as realistic as possible (note: I used various thin paintbrushes and tried to always paint in the direction that the fur would normally go). Being not at all happy with my initial background, it took me a couple of days before I came up with the idea of having the background bubble-y and blurry (since at the end I would paint in some bubbles anyway, I thought that this could look great). Getting the background the way I wanted it, however, was hard work and tougher than I thought (it looks so easy, you think? Ha!). So, in order to get that blurriness, it took me about 5 or 6 layers to finalize the background.
————————————
3.) Das Fell malte ich in grosszügiger Schichtarbeit aus diversen Brauntönen (dabei achtete ich darauf, meine bereits existierenden dunkelsten Stellen nicht vollends zu übermalen). Dafür benutzte ich diverse feine Pinsel und malte das Fell immer in die Richtung, in die die Fellhaare normalerweise “gehen” würde, wie man es beim Betrachten eines Tieres feststellen kann. Da mir der ursprüngliche Hintergrund gar nicht gefiel, entschloss ich mich, einen verschwommenen Hintergrund zu malen, welcher durch die runden Formen schön mit den geplanten Seifenblasen verschmelzen würden. So schön der Hintergrund schlussendlich wurde, so viel Zeit investierte ich auch dafür in grosszügiger Schichtarbeit.

 

4.) I could have gone on painting the head of the jaguar for much longer (since the subject is the most fun thing to paint!), however, I needed to focus on drawing in the rest of the motif to get a general idea of the ‘setting’ and colours before hitting the last several stages of layering. I took a random colibri image I found online to get an idea of its shape and proportion, however, my goal was to have a surreal, magical touch to the bird. That’s why I wouldn’t necessarily call it a colibri after all. For the pattern in the background I didn’t use any stencil, but painted it free-hand.
————————————
4.) Manchmal kann das Malen eines Motivs so viel Spass machen (Jaguar), dass man dabei vielleicht auch mal den Überblick über das unfertige Bild verlieren kann. Ich wusste, dass ich irgendwann “loslassen” musste, um mich dem geplanten Vogel zuzuwenden. Diesen zuerst leicht mit Kreide gezeichnet, fing ich danach mit der Farbe an (wiederum grosszügige Schichtarbeit). Als Referenz für den Vogel diente mir ein Kolibri-Bild aus dem Internet. Da mein Ziel jedoch ein surrealer Vogel war, nutzte ich das Kolibri-Bild nur zum Studium der Proportionen. Mein Ziel war es, einen ZAUBERhaften Vogel zu kreieren. Das Muster im Hintergrund malte ich ohne die Hilfe einer Schablone.

ds

 

5.) Next I continued working on the jaguar’s head, shading it by layering up some more until I felt that the fur looked quite realistic to me. Then I went over my darkest darks again (which had mostly vanished by then) and started with the fine details (the jaguar’s eye and whiskers and the bubbles) – my most favoured stage of work! After that, I had called the painting finally finished, when my family and friends came over to have a peek. I called it done, because I truly and honestly was a bit fed up working on it any longer (after four months and so many layers – I am not a patient person and get bored with never-ending same processes), even though I felt that something was just not quite right with the painting. I knew that, but I couldn’t quite figure out what it was that was bugging me. So I put it aside for a few days before I would sign it (what I always do, by the way, with each and every piece of art).
————————————
5.) Als nächstes widmete ich mich wieder dem Jaguar, um in Schichtarbeit und dem nachmalen meiner dunkelsten Stellen einen möglichst realistischen Look zu erzielen. Danach erfreute ich mich der für mich schönsten Arbeit: das Herausheben der Feinheiten (Auge und Schnurrhaare des Jaguars, Seifenblasen). Das war dann auch der Punkt, an dem ich das Bild für fertig erklärte, da mich die Ungeduld packte und ich dringend das Gefühl eines neuen FERTIGEN Bildes brauchte. Wenn man mit Öl und dann noch realistisch (Jaguar) malt, dann braucht es lange Zeit, um überhaupt mal Fortschritte zu sehen als Künstler (es ist als würde z. B. deine Nachbarin stetig abnehmen, aber du siehst es nicht, weil du die Nachbarin täglich siehst!). 🙂 Obschon mich an dem vermeintlich fertigen Bild etwas störte, konnte ich zu diesem Zeitpunkt einfach nicht herausfinden, was es war. Deshalb entschloss ich mich (wie bei allen meinen Bildern) die ‘Lotti Leibnitz Endphase’ einzuleiten (sehr empfehlenswert!!) indem ich das Bild, bevor ich es signierte, auf die Seite legte und mich für ein paar Tage anderen Dingen widmete (jedoch es täglich betrachtete und studierte).

IMAG3780-1

 

6.) Turns out that my decision to put the painting aside for a while was quite right, because what was disturbing me about the painting all along was the bird. It somehow wasn’t right. Even though it was to be surrealistic and therefore right however I painted it, I kind of missed the thoroughly magical touch to it. So I continued working on it. This is now the finished piece and – funny or not – even though I got fed up with working on it, it now became my most favorited piece I have made so far. Luvin’ it! ❤
————————————
6.) Und wiederum war diese für mich sehr effiziente ‘Endphase’ aufschlussreicher als zuerst angenommen. Was mich die ganze Zeit am vermeintlich fertigen Bild störte war der Vogel, der ausserordentlich wenig Magie ausstrahlte – also ganz und gar nicht meiner ursprünglichen Idee und Vorstellung entsprechend! Nach weiteren Stunden des kreativen Schaffens entstand dann das nun zu meiner Freude wirklich fertige Bild, welches – trotz Ungeduld und Fast-Aufgebens – nun zu meinen besten und liebsten Werken gehört! ❤

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADefined Surreality
oil on canvas
90x4x60 cm

Colours I used (Van Gogh & Rembrandt oil paints):
Background: indigo, kraplack deep, ultramarine blue, burnt sienna, burnt umber, sap green, phthalo green, emerald green, azo yellow lemon, zinc white
Jaguar: black, indigo, vandyke brown, raw umber, burnt umber, burnt sienna, raw sienna, yellow ochre, zinc white
Jaguar’s eye: black, burnt umber, burnt sienna, phthalo green, azo yellow lemon, zinc white
Magic bird: black, indigo, ultramarine blue, phthalo blue, phthalo green, turquoise blue, emerald green, quinacridone rose, zinc white, titanium white
Brushes I used: various (in shape, size and length)
Hours it took to finish the painting: impossible to count! 😀

 

  • Click here for some very short real time clips on the painting process.
  • Please Like & Share this blog post by using the buttons below!
  • Please comment on whether this ART JOURNAL entry was helpful and inspiring to you!

Thank you & Happy Creations!
Yours always,
Lotti ❤

One thought on ““Making of…” – Defined Surreality

  1. Pingback: “Making of…” – Spirited | Lotti Leibnitz

Tell me your thoughts and leave a comment here!

